[NCSouth] Oxford NC Confederate Monument Under Attack
 
From: northcarolinasouth@yahoo.com
To: NCSouth@yahoogroups.com
 
The Henderson (NC) Daily Dispatch reports below that "civil rights" activists are demanding the removal of a Confederate monument from the library grounds in Oxford NC. The monument was moved from the Granville County courthouse to the library in 1971 as a compromise in the wake of the Oxford race riot. However, as South Carolina has learned, no compromise on Confederate symbols will satisfy "civil rights" activists.
 
(A link to the) article follows. Contact the Granville County Commissioners and let them know that these "activists" don’t represent the values of the community:
 
– James W. Lumpkins, Chair, marylump@gloryroad.net
– Hubert L. Gooch, Jr., Vice-Chair, g2mat@aol.com
– Ronald R. Alligood, alligood71@hotmail.com
– W.E. "Pete" Averette, etaverette@aol.com
– Tony W. Cozart, tcozart@wcsk12.org
– R. David Currin, Jr., dcurrin@hydroservice.com
– Zelodis Jay, zelodisjay@gmail.com
___________________________________
 
DEBATE OVER OXFORD’S CONFEDERATE MONUMENT GOES ON
By William F. West
bwest@hendersondispatch.com
Jul 9,2009
http://henderson.southernheadlines.com/index.cfm?section=68&story=20798