Dedication ceremony for black Confederate soldiers

The Giles County Chapter No. 257 United Daughters of the Confederacy and the General John C. Brown SCV Camp 112 were responsible for organizing the dedication ceremony for the Black Confederate Soldiers in Maplewood Cemetery in Pulaski.

Summertown Camp 2113 also assisted with the ceremony. The names on those markers are Ruffin Abernathy, Maruice Adams Cleveland, Tom Brown, Fed Clack, Daniel B. Coleman, Jacob Coleman, Mack Dabney, Whitlock Fields, Nathan Gordon, Wash Harris, Steve Jones, Richard Lester, Robert Lester, Sam Maxwell, Neal Mitchell, Giles Moore, Joseph Reynolds and Matt Rivers. The 21-gun salute for the ceremony was provided by re-enactors. Courtesy photo

Story created Dec 14, 2009

On The Web: