Va Flaggers: Charlottesville City Council/Lee-Jackson Day Update
 
Please send an e mail or call!!!
 
On Tuesday, February 17th, Charlottesville City Council met, in spite of inclement weather, and the first of two required readings of the proposed ordinance change that would eliminate the City Lee-Jackson Day holiday was held. We were unable to attend, due to the road conditions, but watched by live feed, and only one person mentioned the ordinance change during the public speaking portion of the meeting.
 
Tonight, Monday, March 2nd will be the 2nd and final reading, as well as the vote by City Council.  All indications are that this prejudicial and discriminatory ordinance change will pass, as comments by Councilors have been overwhelmingly in support of and with sympathy for those who spoke for the removal of any and all things Confederate from the city.
 
The meeting begins at 7:00.  Anyone wishing to speak during the public speaking time must arrive early at 6:30 to sing up for one of the 12 available slots.
 
There is still time to send one more email and/or make one more phone call before Monday evening.
 
Charlottesville City Council Contact Info:
 
Contact Information:
Mayor Satyendra Singh Huja
huja1@comcast.net
(434) 977-5094 (H)
(434) 981-8948 (C)
 
Vice Mayor Dede Smith  
dsmith@charlottesville.org
(434) 882-2933 ©
 
Kristin Szakos  
k.szakos@embarqmail.com
(434) 987-1042 (C)
 
Kathy Galvin
kgalvin@charlottesville.org
(434) 249-6404 (C)
 
Bob Fenwick
bfenwick@charlottesville.org
(434) 249-3406 (C)
 
To contact all the City Councilors with a question or comment .
To contact Paige Rice, Clerk of Council, call 434-970-3113.
 
On February 19th, the NBC affiliate in Charlottesville spoke with Va Flagger Barry Isenhour, and ran this story when plans to seek land for a Memorial Battle Flag were leaked to the press…
http://www.nbc29.com/story/28151959/group-seeks-land-to-fly-confederate-flag-in-charlottesville
 
We hope to see many of you in Charlottesville tomorrow evening…
 
Sincerely,
 
Susan Hathaway
 
Follow our blog:  http://vaflaggers.blogspot.com/
 
Find us on FaceBook:  https://www.facebook.com/The-Virginia-Flaggers/378823865585630
 
Follow us on Twitter:  @thevaflaggers
 
Virginia Flaggers
P.O. Box 547
Sandston VA 23150
info@vaflaggers.com